Rise Against - Hero of War

All min respekt går till Rise Against idag, som för övrigt spelar på Columbiahalle i Berlin idag. Det bandet vet verkligen hur man skriver bra texter som verkligen berör. Första gången jag hörde "Hero of War" kunde jag inte hålla tårarna tillbaka, jag blir lätt sådär jätte sentimental! Jag vet att många inte har viljan eller orken att läsa igenom hela texten, därför har jag gjort texten tjock vid det ställe jag alltid blir sentimental vid!

 

"He said
Son...Have you seen the world?
Well, what would you say
If I said that you could.
Just carry this gun.
You'll even get paid.
I said that sounds pretty good.

Black leather boots
Spit shined so bright
They cut off my hair
But it looks alright
We marched and we sang
We all became friends
As we learned how to fight

A hero of war
Yeah that's what I'll be
And when I come home
They'll be damn proud of me
I'll carry this flag
To the grave if I must
Because it's a flag that I love
And a flag that I trust


I kicked in the door
I yelled my commands
The children they cried
But I got my man
We took him away
A bag over his face
From his family and his friends

They tookoff his clothes
They pissed in his hands
I told them to stop
But then I joined in
We beat him with guns
And batons not just once
But again and again

She walked
Through bullets and haze
I asked her to stop
I begged her to stay
But she pressed on
So I lifted my gun
And I fired away

And the shells jumped
Through the smoke
And into the sand
That the blood now had soaked
She collapsed
With a flag in her hand
A flag white as snow

A hero of war
Is that what they see
Just medals and scars
So damn proud of me
And I brought home that flag
Now it gathers dust
But it's a flag that I love
It's the only flag I trust"

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback